lessphp fatal error: parse error: failed at `@btnDangerBackgroundHighlight: #bd362f;` /home/mmcet/public_html/wp-content/themes/theme42116/bootstrap/less/variables.less on line 48lessphp fatal error: parse error: failed at `@btnDangerBackgroundHighlight: #bd362f;` /home/mmcet/public_html/wp-content/themes/theme42116/bootstrap/less/variables.less on line 48 The Polytechnic | MMCET

The Polytechnic

Established by an Act of Parliament in 2001, the college became a Polytechnic and it was thereafter re-named Milton Margai College of Education and Technology (MMCET).  His Excellency The President, Alhaji Dr. Ahmad Tejan Kabba launched this Polytechnic Institution on the 26th November, 2001.  The Polytechnic is being governed by a body called the Polytechnic Council.  This body is subject to the Polytechnic Act of October 2001 and has control and supervision of the general policy and property of the Polytechnic.  Its effective functioning is done by various sub-committees with special responsibilities and reports to the Council for its approval.

The aims and objectives of the Polytechnic College is as follows:

  1. To undertake Teacher Training for the Junior and Senior Secondary School levels of Sierra Leone.;
  2. To provide courses in Technical Studies and Vocational skills development that will enhance professional development for work in the middle man-power levels of Sierra Leone
  3. To provide instruction in Applied Science, Creative Practical Arts and Home Economics.

The institution has three campuses – Brookfields, Congo Cross and Goderich.

The Polytechnic offers courses ranging from Trade Certificate.  Certificate, National Diploma, Higher National Diploma, and Higher Teacher’s Certificate to Degree level.

The Polytechnic has five Faculties namely:

  1. Faculty of Education
  2. Faculty of Engineering
  3. Faculty of Business and Management Studies
  4. Faculty of Environmental Sciences
  5. Faculty of Hotel, Tourism & Nutritional Sciences